orang-utan-2-slider-en

For the second consecutive year, Café Mystique is participating in the Orang-Outan world coffee program, which is trying to save the species threatened by the wild cultivation of palm oil. Thus, for every bag of this premium coffee sold, $ 1.25 is given directly to the Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Program (SOCP), a scientific organization dedicated to the safeguarding of orangutans since 1999.

The biologist and filmmaker Jean Lemire supports this noble cause. “Two million hectares of Indonesian forests are annihilated each year, equivalent to six football fields per minute, for palm oil monocultures. And more than 50% of processed food would contain palm oil. Without knowing it, by consuming these products, we supply ammunition to this merciless war that kills life in all its forms. We must support the work of scientists who are trying to save the last orangutans of the planet.” Lemire’s film “The victims of palm oil” is a true cry for help and his recent book “L’Odyssée des illusions” devotes many chapters to this environmental problem that concerns us all.

Consumers can purchase Orang-Outan coffee at the following stores: IGA Extra, Metro Plus, Rachèle-Béry, Tau and many other participating fine grocery stores. They can also make a donation at the SOCP website.

Café Mystique Coffee, which also manages of Toi Moi & amp; Café, is a Montreal-based company that has distinguished itself for nearly twenty years by its high-end products and equipment, with its ecological transformation practices and its commitment to several social causes. It is currently the only roasting company in North America to import Café Orang-Outan.

orang-utan-2-slider

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, Café Mystique participe au programme mondial Café Orang-Outan qui tente de sauver l’espèce menacée par la culture sauvage de l’huile de palme. Ainsi, pour chaque sac de ce café haut de gamme vendu, 1,25$ est remis directement au Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Program (SOCP), un organisme scientifique voué à la sauvegarde des orangs-outangs depuis 1999.

Le biologiste et cinéaste Jean Lemire appuie cette noble cause. « Deux millions d’hectares de forêts indonésiennes sont anéanties chaque année, l’équivalent de six terrains de football par minute, pour les monocultures de palmiers à huile. Et plus de 50% de la nourriture transformée contiendrait de l’huile de palme. Sans le savoir, en consommant ces produits, nous fournissons les munitions à cette guerre sans merci qui tue la vie sous toutes ses formes. Il faut supporter le travail des scientifiques qui tentent de sauver les derniers orangs-outangs de la planète ». Son film Les victimes de l’huile de palme est un véritable cri du cœur et son récent livre « L’odyssée des illusions » consacre de nombreux chapitres à cette problématique environnementale qui nous concerne tous.

Les consommateurs peuvent se procurer le Café Orang-Outan dans les IGA Extra, Métro Plus, Rachèle-Béry, Tau et épiceries fines participantes. Ils peuvent également faire un don sur le site de la SOCP.

Café Mystique Coffee, aussi dépositaire de la marque Toi Moi & Café, est une compagnie montréalaise qui se distingue depuis près de vingt ans par ses produits et équipements haut de gamme, ses pratiques de transformation écologiques et son engagement dans plusieurs causes sociales. Elle est présentement la seule compagnie torréfactrice en Amérique du Nord à importer le Café Orang-Outan.

Café Orang-Outan : http://www.orang-utan-coffee.com
SOCP : http://www.sumatranorangutan.org/
Les victimes de l’huile de palme: http://ici.tou.tv/decouverte/s27e33?r
Café Mystique Coffee : cafemystiquecoffee.com